Honey Spiced Chicken Thighs

When I buy chicken at the grocery store, I always just go for the boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Why? Well I am not really sure, its what I have always done. I have cooking chicken breasts down to a science; slice them in half length wise, heat olive oil in a pan over med heat, cook for 5 mins on each side and you have a perfect chicken breast! So while grocery shopping the other day, you can imagine my shock when I arrive at the meat section to find no organic chicken breasts available….. Standing there a little stunned, I was faced with 3 options:

1. Change my whole dinner plan completely (not gonna happen, already had groceries in the cart)

2. Buy organic chicken wings (ehh)

3. Buy organic chicken thighs

Clearly, I went with option number 3. I have never bought chicken thighs before and was really unsure as to what to do with them, but I was planning on baking my chicken so figured it couldn’t be that much of a difference. Oh my! What have I been missing out on?! Seriously this chicken was the best chicken I have ever fixed! It was tender, it was juicy, it had a little sweetness followed by a kick of spiciness.  This is a definite must try! Serve it with cauliflower rice and sauteed asparagus and you have a perfect “real” food meal!

Photo (57)

Speaking of which, so far week 1 of no processed hasn’t been too difficult. Definitely more planning and cooking involved, which for the most part I enjoy 😉 .  I have been making smoothies for breakfast and making double the portions of dinner, so I can take the left overs for lunch! Hopefully week 2 will be as easy as the first has been….we shall see…..

Photo (58)

Honey Spiced Chicken Thighs:

Adapted from: Budgetbytes

Ingredients:

  1. 4 Chicken thighs
  2. 3 tablespoons honey
  3. 1 tablespoon cider vinegar (I used a little less then a full tablespoon)
  4. 1 tsp chili powder
  5. 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  6. pinch of paprika, cumin, and cayenne pepper
  7. Salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a small bowl, combine everything except the chicken thighs (honey, cider vinegar, chili powder, garlic powder, smoked paprika, cayenne, cumin, and salt). Stir until combined.
  2. Place the chicken thighs either on a baking sheet and brush the honey spice mixture over the surface of the chicken thighs, using about half of the total honey mixture.
  3. Roast the chicken thighs for about 20 minutes. Remove the chicken thighs from the oven and use the remaining honey spice mixture to brush on a second coat. Return the chicken to the oven and roast for another 20 minutes.
Leave a Reply

