Bye bye processed foods

So this year for lent I am giving up processed foods.  After watching the movie Food Inc. and recently finishing the book, “In Defense of Food” by Michael Pollan, I have decided its time to really cut out a lot of the food thats actually not food. I have learned so much on this topic, its even turned my husband away from certain foods. For one, we will NEVER ever eat subway again, I just cant do it (wont spoil it for subway lovers). And yes for about a year now, I have been that crazy person in the grocery store standing in the aisle, reading the ingredients. But when we go out to dinner or we travel, I am not as conscious as to what I am putting into my body. My guildines are based off of the 100daysofrealfood.com site. So here goes the next 40 days…….

Photo (55)

Luckily the first meal of this no processed ordeal is actually something I cook all the time and is one of my favorites! I LOVE curry. I have found that most people either love curry or hate it. Luckily the husband loves it as well (or at least pretends to enjoy it). Not only does this dish taste phenomenal, look how pretty it is! Served over brown rice and this is a very satisfying “real” food dinner.  Maybe this wont be such a hard 40 days after all……

Photo (56)

Chicken Curry

Ingredients: 

  1. 2 tablespoons red curry paste
  2. 1 tablespoon olive oil
  3. 1 15oz can coconut milk (full fat and organic for real food)
  4. 2 chicken breasts cut into pieces
  5. 1 tablespoon curry powder
  6. 4 bell peppers of any color, chopped
  7. 1 leek, chopped
  8. 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet over medium high heat, saute olive oil and curry paste, pressing the paste into the oil for 1 minute.
  2. While that sautes, combine chicken, curry powder, salt & pepper in a small bowl and toss to coat. Set aside.
  3. Add half the coconut milk into the pan and whisk together until it’s incorporated with the curry paste. Then add remaining coconut milk and simmer for 3 minutes.
  4. Add seasoned chicken and cook for about 5 minutes.
  5. Add vegetables and cilantro, stir, cover and cook for about 5-7 more minutes until chicken is fully cooked.
  6. Serve over brown rice and garnish with additional cilantro.
Leave a Reply

