Cast Iron Cooking

I LOVE my cast iron skillet! Nothing gets a better sear, which in turn provides the meat with so much flavor that you just cant get from a regular nonstick pan. I know they get a bad rep for being heavy, hard to clean and a process to season blah blah… But trust me, once you have a seasoned cast iron skillet, taking care of it really isn’t as much of as hassle.   For me I have found if I clean it with warm water and a sponge right after cooking works best. You will be left with a pan that provides the best even cooking, easy stove top to oven transition, and a sear that just cant be beat.

Photo (50)

As I was flipping through my Southern Living I came across this recipe that not only recommended a cast iron skillet but also was a one pot meal. Done and done!   Let me say it did not disappoint! I am not normally a fan of cooked apples, but in this dish they worked really well. I didn’t cook them for as long so they still had a little crunch to them and were not mushy. This will definitely be a recipe I use when I need a quick, tasty weeknight meal! Its even good enough to impress company with!

Photo (51)

Skillet Pork Chops with Apples and Onions

Adapted from Southern Living

Ingredients: 

  1. 2 bone-in pork chops (1 to 1 1/4 inches thick)
  2. 1 tablespoon olive oil
  3. 1 granny smith apple cut into slices
  4. 1 medium onion cut into thin slices
  5. 1/3 cup chicken broth
  6. 1 cup whipping cream
  7. 1/4 cup dijon mustard
  8. 2 tablespoons bourbon (I used jack daniels b/c it was what we had)
  9. 8 fresh thyme springs
  10. salt and pepper

Directions: 

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Sprinkle the pork with salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a cast iron skillet (or a regular non stick skillet) over medium heat. Cook the pork chops 5 to 6 mins on each side till they are nice and golden brown. Remove from the skillet.

2. Add the apples and onions to the skillet. Cook until browned about 4 to 5 mins (I added my apples a couple mins after the onions). Remove from skillet.

3. Add the broth to the skillet and cook for about 2 minutes loosening the browned bits from the skillet. Whisk together the cream and mustard and then add to the skillet. Cook and stir constantly until bubbly.

4. Remove skillet from the heat and stir in the bourbon. Add the pork, apples, onions and thyme to the skillet.

5. Bake at 450 for 10 mins and then let stand in skillet for 5 mins before serving!

Leave a Reply

