The Kale Bandwagon – Mushroom and Kale Pasta

So I am trying to get on the kale bandwagon. While I still can’t do raw kale, I am enjoying it more and more cooked in dishes. I saw a recipe for a mushroom and kale pasta that looked amazing and knew I had to try. Of course while in the store I did a quick scan of the recipe and grabbed the ingredients I thought I needed. I guess I was in too much of a hurry (story of my life) that I either missed half of the ingredients or I thought I had them at home, only to realize in the middle of cooking that I did not. So this is what I call my pantry pasta. (I promise there is more kale in the pasta then the picture shows haha)

Photo (3)

I am still learning how to not freak out when not following a recipe and this really put me to the test. I had no idea how it was going to turn out, but thought “worst case its a learning experience and we order take out when its all said and done!” To my surprise it actually turned out to be pretty good. Not my best dinner and definitely would make improvements to it next time but a solid first attempt! The original recipe called for dried mushrooms and mushroom cooking liquid which of course I did not have.  Instead, I used portobello and just substituted the pasta water for the cooking liquid (next time I would prolly skip this step, maybe add a little chicken broth).  Also while tasting before serving, I determined it needed a little something else to bring the dish together so I added goat cheese and that did the trick! Next time I would also let the sauce sit for a little longer to get thicker but we were too impatient and hungry to wait 🙂 .

Photo (1)

Mushroom and Kale Pasta:

Ingredients: 

  1. 8 ounces whole-wheat pasta, boiled and drained according to pasta directions
  2. 1 cup reserved pasta water
  3. 10 oz portobella mushrooms sliced
  4. 1 tablespoon butter
  5. 1 tablespoon olive oil
  6. 1 medium onion chopped
  7. 1 cup white wine
  8. 2 cups kale chopped
  9. 3/4 heavy cream
  10. 2 oz goat cheese
  11. Salt and pepper to taste
  12. Red pepper flakes to taste

Directions: 

1. In a pan over medium heat, melt the butter and olive oil. Add the onions and mushrooms and cook till the onions are translucent.

2. Pour in the white wine, turn up the heat, and bring to a boil. Cook the wine until it almost boils off. Add the 1 cup of reserved pasta water and cook until reduced by half.

3. Turn the heat back to medium and add the heavy cream, goat cheese, kale, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to the pan. Cook until the sauce thickens. Fold in the noodles and serve!

Leave a Reply

