Friendsgiving

We hosted a friendsgiving this past weekend. I cooked my very first turkey ever. I was sure it was going to be an epic disaster! I read lots of recipes, watched multiple videos on how people cooked their turkeys, and no lie I even had my computer set up in the kitchen, watching a youtube video while trying to truss the turkey. Luckily no one was around to witness how comical this all really was. To my surprise, it actually turned out really good! I was kinda shocked….

Photo1 (8)

I am not going to lie, I was totally intimated by cooking a turkey. The ways I could royally screw this up were endless, and I kept picturing the scene from Christmas Vacation where they go to cut the turkey and it deflates. But to my surprise this did not happen! It was actually quite tasty and not near as hard as I was expecting, messy yes, but a fairly easy process.

IMG_4443

I am so blessed and thankful to have the group of friends we have down here. I love that they can enjoy my organized chaos in the kitchen and while it was a lil hectic at the end, I would say Friendsgiving was a success and a tradition we will keep alive for years to come! Thanks Kaitlyn and JD for ensuring we got pictures to document this 🙂

Photo1 (9)

Friendsgiving Turkey:

Adapted from Bon Appetit Magazine

Ingredients: 

– 13lb. Turkey

– 3/4 cup butter, softened

– 3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

– 2 tbsp chopped fresh sage

-2 tbsp chopped fresh thyme – plus extra stems for stuffing the turkey

– Salt and pepper to taste

– 1 carrot

– 1 celery stalk

– 1 medium onion

– 32oz chicken broth

Instructions: 

(If you turkey has been in the fridge ensure to set it out an hr before you want to cook it)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

2. Mix together softened butter, parsley, sage, and thyme

3. Remove the neck and other innards from the turkey cavity. Season the cavity with salt and pepper. Place the carrot, celery and onion quarters into the cavity of the turkey.

4. Truss your turkey (this is the video I attempted to follow)

5. Starting at the neck end, slide your hands under the breast skin to loosen. Smear 3 tablespoons of the herb butter underneath the breast skin. Smear another 4 tablespoons of the herb butter over the entire topside of the turkey.

6. Place the turkey in the roasting pan, breast side up. Pour the chicken broth into the roasting pan.

7. Cover the breasts with foil and place the turkey in the oven. Roast the turkey for 2 hours, basting every 30 mins.

8. Remove the foil from the breast. Roast the turkey until the thermometer registers 165 degrees F. (For us this only took 45 more mins) Continue basting every 30 mins.

9. Once turkey reaches 165 degrees F remove from oven and let rest for at least 30 mins before carving. – We let our rest for over an hr while we used the oven to cook other things and it was still warm when we carved it!

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

