Who doesn’t love a one pot meal?!

Anyone who has seen me in the kitchen before knows I am not a clean cook. I get sucked into a new recipe, making sure I get the timing of each component correct, or the taste just right. I want it to be perfect so sometimes I over look the disaster I am turning my kitchen into. In the Gabriel household we have a system, I plan, shop and then prepare the dinner, so naturally the husband cleans up after…..  Lets just say sometimes I get a little grief over how messy my cooking adventures can be. When I came across this one pot meal that not only looked delicious but sounded super simple and an easy clean up after a long Monday, I knew it would be the perfect choice for our dinner. I was half way correct….

Photo1 (1)

I found the original recipe from http://www.joyfulhealthyeats.com/. I made some changes to the dish I prepared. I did not use chicken thighs like the recipe called for, instead I used thin chicken breasts.   I knew they would not take the whole 1hr 15min the recipe called for so I started the veggies 30 mins before.  I also switched up the veggies based on what I had in the house.  I added a little olive oil to the veggies and why I did this I do not know, but it was a mistake. I could definitely taste to much olive oil!  However the chicken was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious! Also I hate rosemary so I didn’t use it at all but I still think the dish had great flavor (minus the olive oil soaked veggies).

Photo1

This is a dish I would do again but I think next time I will stick to the original recipe and try it with chicken thighs and definitely will not add more oil to the veggies! Eh you live and you learn, at least it was an easy clean up ;).

Mustard Balsamic Baked Chicken with Roasted Vegetables

Recipe adapted from: Joyful healthy eats

Ingredients:

– 4 chicken breasts

– 1/2 head of cauliflower chopped into larger florets

– 1 zucchini chopped

– 1/2 red onion quartered

– 5 red potatoes quartered

Marinade:

– 1 tablespoon of spicy mustard

– 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar

– 1/2 cup of olive oil

– salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. In a large bowl, add spicy  mustard, minced garlic clove, balsamic vinegar, and salt & pepper. Whisk to combine, slowly add in olive oil.

  2. Place chicken breasts in bowl with mustard balsamic marinade. Toss to coat with marinade. Let sit for 30 minutes.

  3. Preheat oven to 375º

  4. Place all the veggies in a 13×9″ baking dish. Bake for 30 mins

  5. Add chicken breasts and marinade to the top of the veggies for 45 mins or until chicken is done and vegetables are soft. Remove from oven and serve!
Leave a Reply

